Hello all

INreefer

Reefing newb
Hi everyone... Ive been visiting the site on and off for a few months now and decided to join in on the fun. I am moving my 55 gallon tank soon and am looking forward to getting it going again.

I am looking for a new light set up for it as my old coral life has bad bulbs, ballasts, and lunar lights. Any opinions would be appreciated. Not looking to be doing much in the way of corals for now.

Well its time for the battle :helm2: of me vs the salt water gods :bounce:

Sometimes I feel like the lone-proponent here, but I find LED's the best route to go - even if you're doing something coral-light, you can go for the more inexpensive line of LED's if you can afford them, otherwise a T5 setup works great.

MH, or Metal Halide, will put out a lot of heat, is expensive to run and maintain and is generally only required if you're really looking to keep high-end items (anemones, LPS, etc.).

The first, and best place to look, is Craigslist - you can often find the goodies of someone upgrading or leaving the hobby who generally spent a lot on their lights. This is a great way to start if you're wanting to invest slowly in the hobby.

Marinedepot has some decent offers on LED setups as well, and nanotuners.com offers DIY kits with customization options - even though your tank isn't 'nano' size, it would still be worthwhile to see what they have and get a feel for pricing. Blue lunar or Ecoxotic (a new company) have competitively priced options in the entry point range for your size tank.

Hope this helps...

wow thanks for the quick reply's. I don't know much about the LED's. I was looking at getting the 4- t5's. Might have to check it out thanks :)

Welcome aboard.
When your ready to getter goin,be sure to start a thread in the showcase forum.That we call see it come together.