Hello and I need a little help

BryanS

Reefing newb
Hello my name is Bryan and I'm sure yall will be able to figure out I'm new at this hobby. I have really been interested in it for a while and now my money situtation is finally allowing me to get started. I would like to go ahead and say thankyou for any advice you can give me.

1. I have started cycling my tank and I through a couple of shrimp in the tank to speed up the process. My qeustion is how long should leave them in the tank. My PH is already through the roof, but there are no signs of nitrite yet, so should I go ahead and take out the shrimp?

2. I'm getting a protein skimmer just not exactly sure which one yet. I am going to have the get a HOB skimmer. I like the Octopus BH 100ss, BH 1000, and BH 100f. Which of these would be the best choice?

Thankyou

It looks like your off to a good start though. I would def. recommend getting a skimmer though, not much of a necessity right now but when you get fish you will definitely need one.

Do you have a powerhead or anything in the tank right now or is it just sitting there.

Just keep testing the water and take your time.
The best thing in this hobby is patience.

No I dont have a powerhead yet. I'm in the process of getting one. I think I'm going to the the Korila 2.

The water is not just sitting there, I have a Bio wheel moving it but it is not very effective. I will be chaning it soon it just came with the tank. I just don't know what to get yet.

Ahh ok good. Atelast you dont have water just sitting there because that would be bad. Just checking.
A koralia 1 or possibly a 2 would be good, a 2 might be a little too much flow.

Hi Bryan,

I have a 30g setup as follows :

(2) Koralia #1s
(1) Octopus 100F HOB skimmer (works well for the 30g but I like the new 800s)
(1) 130w PC light with blue LED night lights

I have about 35lbs sand & 50-60lbs live rock.

That is all you will need to get started (test kits, etc are a given).

Oh yeah,

Welcome to the reef!