Help growing my corals

Nonfamous

Reefing newb
ALL my parameters are fine. I'm not going to post them up right now. Just assume that they are as good as anyone else's.

I'm still new to the hobby. Less than a year and I haven't been seeing much growth in my corals. I have 2 good size Zoa colonies. One is doing well and has actually grown a little. Not as much as I figured it would have, but it appears as healthy as it was the day I brought it home. Its on the left side of my tank.

The second one is on the opposite side of the tank. Same height as the other. About mid way in the water column. It was a big colony of small Zoas. The small colorful ones have gone and the larger brown kind have pretty much taken over that rock. Why would the smaller ones have died off?

I had a nice sized colony of Yellow polyps living just above, and to the right of the second Zoas. They were eaten by something. I never did figure out what it was. I camped out with a red light for several nights and never saw what it was that got them. Guess I'll never know. They never multiplied while I had them.

In the bottom right I have some green mushrooms on a rock. At times they look huge, at others not so huge. I guess thats the nature of them. One either died or detached and is gone. The others don't seem to be growing or multiplying. Is this normal? What is needed to insure they grow?

Yesterday I picked up a big rock covered with Lavender Mushrooms. Bright, almost florescent tips. They remind me of fiber optics! They look great. They are on the bottom left side of my tank. I wish for these to continue to be healthy and I would love for them to spread. What can I do to give them the best shot at doing so?

I would love to by smaller frags, but without having luck getting my existing corals to grow, or even survive, I'm a bit weary. I really want to populate this tank with some colour. Any guidance is appreciated.

Valid question!