Help me undestand light better

symon_say

Under the sea
I will be setting a tank in a few months when i move to my new home, i'm new to saltwater and have been reading books and forum to try to get as much knowledge as i can get, i'll set a FOWLR but might eventually get some corals, maybe the lowest maintenance i don't know, but i need to clarify something like i did when i was planting my freshwater tank. I have read that you need about 4-5x watts per gallon, but isn't more important depth of the tank than the gallons it have??

For example, a 75g tank is L48xD18xH20 but what if i custom made a tank that is L48xD24xH20 they have the same depth and light should penetrate the same cause volume of water won't matter in this case, or water volume will affect how the lights goes intothe water and to the corals??

A 24" deep tank will require more light than an 18" tank, as the deeper the tank goes, the harder it is for the light to penetrate all the way to the sandbed. If you're doing a 24" deep tank, you'd probably want a 6 bulb T-5 fixture, metal halides, or LED's of some sort. This is assuming you want to be able to eventually keep anything offered in the trade. If you think you'll do corals, its probably smarter to buy the right lights the first time, versus not having enough light to keep what you want

I want to made the 20" deep, and 48x24 in the base, strong light should be over LR cause there is were corals will be, right??

If so i can get smaller lights to give some lights in darker spots, right??

Problem is that is really hard to find things for saltwater aquarium (ironic, YES), but most of the equipment i'll have to DIY or buy it in USA and import it. So cost is a big thing for me in this case, but for now i'm just learning and saving.

I have just under 5 watts/gallon (which, by the way, the watts/gallon thing is just a guideline, it's not set in stone).