help on basic start up?

siejack8484

Reefing newb
ok i am new to saltwater and i have been reading everything i can but i jus dont understand alot of this slatwater talk and its alot to take in all at once. i jus got a new 75g im setting up and need to know what the basic things i need to get it up and running. i have 2 powerheads and a heater. i have other filters but from what i read i think i shouldnt use them for salt water. i no i need sand and alot of live rocks. but can i start with regular sand and a couple of live rocks and base rocks?? and if so how long should it take for the sand and base rocks to become live? sorry for the long post but im ready to start this project but i rather get as much info as i can before i jump in head 1st and rather have a sucess than a failure

Doing research is a great way to start. If you are talking about freshwater filters, or canister filters, you are right, they're not really great for saltwater.
A protein skimmer and lots of live rock is the way to go.
You can start with mostly dry rock and some live rock (seed rock) and dry sand. It takes a couple months for the rock to turn "live".

Welcome to the forum. Slow and easy is the best approach. It is said that nothing happens fast in this hobby except a disaster. Plan everything out and ask a lot of questions. Once you've researched a step then research it some more. Good luck.

No set time limit. Has to do with your levels. Have your water tested after a few weeks or buy the test kit. DON"T RUSH.

so to get it up n started can i jus start with sum live rock, base rock, sand, 2 powerheads n jus add water?? and then later on start getting more stuff like a protien skimmer and so on?

so to get it up n started can i jus start with sum live rock, base rock, sand, 2 powerheads n jus add water?? and then later on start getting more stuff like a protien skimmer and so on?