How fast does your mandarin deplete your pods?

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by beam3er, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. beam3er

    beam3er

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Mountain Top, Pa
    My tank was loaded with pods and mysis shrimp. I got a green/target mandarin about a month ago and I can not find anymore pods in my tank or HOB refigum. I am not sure if they are all gone. My mandarin does eat frozen food so I am not that worried. I am just amazed on how much this little guy ate in a month or so. Where do you buy your pods from? Any good sites out there? Thanks.
     
    beam3er, Apr 5, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. beam3er

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    reef nutrition sells pods. a mandarin can quickly eat all your pods that is why they do better in larger tanks.
     
    daugherty, Apr 5, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. beam3er

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I have read that most Mandarins will eventually die because of starvation in our tanks. :(
     
    dcantucson, Apr 5, 2010
    #3
  4. beam3er

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,849
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    fastrd400, Apr 5, 2010
    #4
  5. beam3er

    beam3er

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Mountain Top, Pa
    Thanks everyone
     
    beam3er, Apr 5, 2010
    #5
  6. beam3er

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Mandrines are non-stop eaters.So they'll wipe out the pods real quick.
     
    yote, Apr 5, 2010
    #6
  7. beam3er

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    I have a 29G and my Mandarin has never depleted my pods. I have huge amphipods all over the place. Damsels, wrasses, dottybacks and certain other fish will decimate your pods quickly. When I had these fish my pods vanished and after they were gone my pods came back in numbers.
     
    sen5241b, Apr 6, 2010
    #7
  8. beam3er

    parrotchute DUSTOFF MEDEVAC

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Ware, MA
    I think the key is having a good refugium that can safely breed pods without threat of predation. I've had my mandarin for over a year, and he doesn't take frozen food. And you can see by the pics, that he has definitely fattened up, not gotten thinner.
     
    parrotchute, Apr 6, 2010
    #8
  9. beam3er

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I have got to get one of those refugiums SOON! I don't know why I keep putting it off. :frustrat:
     
    dcantucson, Apr 6, 2010
    #9
  10. beam3er

    parrotchute DUSTOFF MEDEVAC

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Ware, MA
    I don't have a sump (saving any additions for my tank upgrade next year), so I just made an in-tank fuge with a small acrylic box with holes punched in it and a pump. Then I magnet attached it to the side of my tank, works great.

    Could probably do the same in your sump, minimal amount of work! (the way I like it!!)
     
    parrotchute, Apr 7, 2010
    #10
  11. beam3er

    Gigaah

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    24
    a "Pod pile" in the main tank is beneficial as well. a pile or liverock rubble hidden back somewhere so it doesn't look bad. the object is to make a pile of rock the pods can breed and multiply in where the predators cannot get at them.
     
    Gigaah, Apr 17, 2010
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.