How much do I feed a clownfish?

Meg

Reefing newb
Hi - sorry if this question is old. I tried to search for the answer but I only read x-times a day and that really varies.

I'm a beginner with a FO biube 9 gallon aquarium. The Biorb comes with instructions that says we should feed each fish 4-6 pellets a day of Hikari Marine S. Now these pellets are tiny - bite size. My clownfish is very happy to have them but he always seems to want more and he definetly can have more than 6 pellets a day. I'm currently breaking up his feeding to 2 or 3 times a day giving him 2-3 pellets at each feeding - so he usually gets 6-8 pellets a day. Is that too much? too little? like I said - he always seems to want more..

I also feed him ArciPods - just a drop - every OTHER day in the morning and then give him an addition 3-5 pellets in the afternoon/evening. Again, he really wants more. BTW - I started the ArciPods because my LFS recommended it and both my clownfish and cleaner shrimp love it. I figured a little diversity is also good.

So my question remains - how much is right? am I feeding him too much?

I feed my tank every other day 1/4 of a cube of frozen food. I have 2 clowns and a royal gramma.

What your feeding sounds good. First you should know that Clownfish are EVIL!!! and they ALWAYS want more. They'll get used to the feedings and as your tank matures they'll find amphipods or copepods to eat during the day. If you start seeing algae cut back on the feeding.

Good luck and I was suggest just keeping the same feeding schedule. Maybe even cut back on a couple of pellets.

thanks for the feedback. I just needed some confirmation that its about right. I'll cut back 1-2 pellets - but between the clownfish going crazy for it and my son saying nemo's hungry..it'll be tough.

I feed my tank about two - three times per week.
I use a small chunk of frozen mysis and just pop in enough until they stop feeding.

Once a week I add a small bit of Cyclopeze & dose with phytoplankton.