How to do Water Changes with Lots of Rock?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Sir Alex, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. Sir Alex

    Sir Alex Dragon the eel (below)

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    In lame ol' Southern Maryland. -_-
    so I was wondering how exactly people do their water changes. I don't have much rock in my 110 so I can bring the water level down pretty low. But in my 75 there's rock all the way to the top even when the tank is full. How would I do a water change without exposing the rocks and corals to the air?
     
    Sir Alex, Nov 26, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sir Alex

    beeguiles they call me fish geek ;p

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    syracuse, ny
    You don't have to worry about exposing them to the air for a few mins. They will be okay.
     
    beeguiles, Nov 26, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sir Alex

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    +1 beeguiles
     
    little_fish, Nov 26, 2011
    #3
  4. Sir Alex

    Waddi Shenanigans? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    NS, Canada
    +2 Bee
     
    Waddi, Nov 26, 2011
    #4
  5. Sir Alex

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    +3...as you know, my rocks come all the way to the top also, and the corals are exposed for at least 5 mins. It doesn't hurt the snails or crabs neither who may sometimes be up there.
     
    Smitty, Nov 26, 2011
    #5
  6. Sir Alex

    Marines_Wife

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    My rocks reach the top of my tank, everything has been fine every water change I've done. My nem is at one of the higher rocks and doesn't even move. She stays right there.
     
    Marines_Wife, Nov 27, 2011
    #6
  7. Sir Alex

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Australia
    I honestly just turn off my powerheads and lights and run it all the way to the bottom!

    Do that and you will have no problem with your tank inhabitants.
     
    Jmck, Nov 27, 2011
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.