I have a few Newb questions. Please Help!

mng777777

Shark Wrangler Wannabe
Hello all,

I am new to this and have already learned a tremendous amount from there forums. Thanks!

I have a 75 gallon display with sump and fuge. I set it up about 2 weeks ago. 1 week ago I added about 65 pounds of dry base rock and about 50 pounds of fully cured live rock. I got the LR from a friend that owned a LFS but decided to shut it down. The rock had been in one of his displays for about 18 months it came with about 5 blue mushrooms that have grown noticeably in a week. I also have a sizeable patch of ricordia on another rock and a whole bunch of feather dusters that also seem to have grown since their arrival.

I found a sally light foot crab with the arrival of the rock which quickly died. I left on the sand and it is becoming smaller every day as it is being processed. I have also had some die off of the coralline.

I have been dosing Bacter-Vital and Reef-Vital DNA for the last 3 days. I have also been dosing B-ionic parts 1&2. I haven't noticed much rise in ammonia, I am currently at about .20 and that’s the highest it’s been, and my nitrates and nitrites have remained at 0.

MY QUESTIONS...

I have noticed several types of algae’s starting to pop up, and have watched my reef go from 1 small Aiptasia to 5 medium Aiptasia and several possible new/small Aiptasia. What should I do at this point? Can I start building a CUC? Can I add a couple of peppermint shrimp? Should I even be thinking about some Chromis or Damsels yet?

I don't want to rush things but I also don't want to allow an outbreak of any of these nuisances if they can be stopped now.

Thank you,
Justin
Tucson, AZ

Last edited:
First off,welcome to the site.
Second,Dont add anything untill you have no detectable ammonia or nitrites.Since you used cured rock,you may or may not have a cycle,but be sure before adding anything else.Your tanks probably done cycled,but you it want hurt to make double sure.