Ich!!!!

RedTornado

Reefing newb
i have yet to get a picture of it but i am trying. I noticed last night that my foxface has little white spots all over his body. Being a total newbie I am trying to read up on this as fast as i can.

I know he has been stressed ever since i put him into my tank. He has never been a full bright yellow. He's always been a little dull. I do think i know the reason of his stress my yellow tang. He does bully him but what i don't get is that even though the tang does bully him the foxface follows him around the tank all day long.

At this point i am in need of advice on what to do.

Should i try to catch the yellow tang and see with my LFS will take him back?

Any help of this will be greatly appreciated.

Well, first off, ich is already in your tank...so tackle that first. If your foxface is not eating and is clearly stressed, I think the whole "leaving him alone" *might* not work (some of us just leave our sick fish alone, as long as they're eating; they tend to get healthier on their own).

Next step would be to catch the foxface, qt him, and treat him with either hypo or copper. The problem is, your display tank already has ich in it. As soon as your foxface gets put back in, and he gets stressed, he'll catch it again. You would just have to hope you've fattened him enough in qt so he can better fend off ich.

You can try to get all your fish out, and treat them all, and leave your tank fallow (fishless) for a couple of months. That will get rid of the ich in your dt.

Of course, you can go ahead and get rid of the tang and hopefully your foxface will get healthier on their own. You can also try rearranging the rocks so your tang gets confused and leaves your foxface alone. Or put the tang in "time out" :) Lots of options, none are easy. Part of the obstacles of not qt'ing all new fish.