Intro clown two...

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by twps, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. twps

    twps

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Paris, ON CANADA
    I added a pair of clowns last weekend, which has sparked a whole other thread (ich) Through this ordeal I've lost one of the clowns. I want to eventually have a pair of ocellaris clowns, but only have one now. I did read somewhere that I should add the new one immediately. I want to get over this ich outbreak first, so I'm not planning on adding any fish for at least 10 weeks at this point. Good idea or bad to wait to introduce another clown?
     
    twps, Mar 20, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. twps

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Just wait. It won't hurt at all to wait.
     
    Bifferwine, Mar 20, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. twps

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    Where did you read to add a new one imediatly? First Ive heard of it. Also, I would make sure your fish is clear of ick. Treat it and get it healthy. Adding a new fish is stressful to your whole tank. You want to make sure that the fish will be able to handle the stress.

    Also, when you add it, make sure it is either smaller or bigger than the current one. It helps them figure out dominance.
     
    bjohanson1234, Mar 20, 2010
    #3
  4. twps

    twps

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Paris, ON CANADA
    I read that online somewhere to replace them immediately. Obviously, I want to clear this ich problem before I add anything else. That's hard to do, considering there is a good sale this weekend at my LFS. I'm staying away, far away!
     
    twps, Mar 20, 2010
    #4
  5. twps

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    10,998
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    You can add corals and inverts. They arent affected by ick :mrgreen:
     
    bjohanson1234, Mar 20, 2010
    #5
  6. twps

    puttycat

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Michigan
    Add them both to the DT at once,The DT won't be home to either one of them. I did that and had pretty good luck. As Yote would say you have a 50/50 chance
     
    puttycat, Mar 20, 2010
    #6
  7. twps

    twps

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Paris, ON CANADA
    Good call adding them both to the QT then move them to DT.
     
    twps, Mar 21, 2010
    #7
  8. twps

    tankedchemist

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    just make sure they're different sizes. I had one medium sized clown for over a year, and got a small one and added it to the DT with no problems at all. Now they're as thick as thieves.
     
    tankedchemist, Mar 21, 2010
    #8
  9. twps

    U4BOYZ Got Fish?

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Gilford, NH USA
    Personally, I don't think it matters when you add a second clown...so I would definitely wait until you get your tank settled. When you do add the second one, make certain it's a tiny one...or chances are good you'll have some domestic violence. :shock:
     
    U4BOYZ, Mar 21, 2010
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.