Is it worth while to add a sump to my tank

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by joshuashih1, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I have a 10 Gal saltwater tank that has been setup for more then 2 years now and I was wondering if it was a good idea to add a sump to it now. If so how many gal should it be?
     
    joshuashih1, Sep 15, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. joshuashih1

    Nonfamous

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Roswell, GA USA
    10 gallons is kinda small. No worries though! Its all good. You can add a sump. How big can you go? I would suggest you add a 20 gallon sump if you have room. Gradually build up the total volume of water. Maybe take double your normal water change, add that water to the sump, and let it run without actually changing any water. (I'm guessing you do a 20% water change.) Next time remove one gallon while adding back 3 and so on until you have the total volume you want. Then do 20% water changes or 5 gallons.

    Why do you think you need a sump? What are your long term plans? With a sump you can run bigger skimmers, add more LR (which you will need to do) and get better flow. What are you hoping to get out of the addition?
     
    Nonfamous, Sep 17, 2015
    #2
    Becky likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I don't have enough space for a large surface area to be used up but know that larger volume of water is always better. Should I empty the tank (transferring everything to a separate tank temporally until I am done) and drill the tank for an overflow the overflow I am looking at is just a bulkhead with a grate on it. Ill put the water from my water changes into the sump but leave the overflow pipe closed until the sump is full enough to work properly. I know that a drilled tank is much nicer to look at and I have another seahorse tank that I am setting up that is pre drilled and its much nicer. I am not new to drilling glass and would be able to do it I just don't know it its a good idea to drill a tank after its been up so long. Would it be ok if I moved all rocks, water, sand (not much left but am posting another thread about this issue) and fish temporally into another tank till I get the current one drilled and then put everything back. Please help me as I am uncertain about further steps.
     
    joshuashih1, Sep 17, 2015
    #3
  4. joshuashih1

    SantaMonica

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA, USA
    I'm becoming more and more in favor of no-sump. Especially on reef ponds, of course, but for all. Top-off is the only really needed thing, and can be fully automatic and hidden in the display.
     
    SantaMonica, Jan 22, 2016
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.