is this sump feasible?

tankedchemist

Reef enthusiast
So, I'm having problems with my sump. Well... actually, with my skimmer fitting correctly in my sump. So, the company that makes my skimmer also does acrylic sumps. Here's the one I'd need for my tank:

RE HD 30

So, at $450, I wonder... is it feasible to make my own version for less than that? I've never worked with acrylic before, but I did make my last (glass) sump and did all the tank plumbing myself. Those of you with DIY experience.... would you save up the cash or make it yourself? Anything else I should consider about the re-vamping my sump? thanks in advance!

Oh man I think pre-made sumps are one of the biggest rip offs in this hobby! Go spend $30 at Walmart and you've got yourself the equivalent sump in glass!

I've never worked with acrylic (and probably wouldn't trust myself to build a sump out of it), but if you are having troubles fitting your skimmer in your current glass sump, you could also look at plastic rubbermade tubs. They come in all different sizes. That's what I use for my sump -- I just scoped out Walmart, Target, Home Depot and Lowe's until I found the one that was the perfect size for the space I had.

On the other hand, it is a pretty nice looking sump and if you don't want to put the time into building one yourself........

Most problems in life can be fixed with time or money. Usually, it's a combination of both. :mrgreen:

I built my own sump. I had never done it before. I had no idea what I was really doing. But it worked. Several members here have built their first sump. It's not hard to do and it's not complicated. It's also really cheap to DIY.

I would never pay that much for a box of acrylic either. Now that I know how to drill holes in glass and silicone some baffles into a tank - I've got sumps on the brain!! Building the new sump and installing the plumbing is almost more exciting to me than filling the tank with water.