Light Question

Vincenzo

Reefing newb
I'm just getting started with a 29g tank and I don't want any corals in it for a while, just rock and fish, so do you have any suggestions on lights that are great and wont blow a hole into my pocket??? :) I found a light Current USA Nova Extreme T5HO but its out of stock and I don't know if thats too much power or not enough. So if anyone wants to help and show me some good links to lights that would be sweet! thanks!

Any cheap light that fits on your tank would be fine for a FOWLR (fish only with live rock) tank iirc. But the lights Biff and Yote showed you are lights that are great for a full reef tank. IMO by the time you do a little more research and are more invested in the hobby you will end up wanting to get corals, most do. I started out just wanting fish and live rock too but that didn't last long.

+1 gg

Also, a 29 fish only is almost a waste of time considering you would only be able to keep a few small fish. The only really interesting fish only tanks are aggressive tanks, which require a lot more tank volume.

Yeah I understand where you're coming from on that, and I decided to go ahead and buy the metal halide lights that Biff suggested! So now I'm just waiting for all the stuff i ordered for my tank to ship to me then I can slowly but surely be on my way to a successful tank xD

Question about the Metal Halide light now, since I see that they get so hot am i going to need to buy a chiller to put in my aquarium along with a heater? Or what is the best option? And should put some sort of barrier between the light and the water?