Lighting and filtration

halostar9

Reefing newb
Hello all,

I am still a noob to this hobby and have much to learn. However, I have learned quite a bit through reading and asking a lot of questions at lfs's.

We are looking at upgrading our 29 gallon reef tank in the near future (after we have enough $ to purchase all of our necessary equipment, etc.). The upgrade will be to a 72 gallon bow front. So far, I plan on looking into purchasing the following:

-Rena Excel 300W heater
-100 lbs. live Fiji aquacultured marine live sand
-Some R/O water
and possibly a Fluval 305 or 405 filter

I am trying to look into two different things right now and make a good decision; lighting and filtration. The used tank that we bought (72 gallon) came with an Eheim 2215 classic canister filter that was used in a freshwater tank for cichlids, previously. First off, I am pretty sure we can still use the filter for our own tank if it is cleaned out properly, but I must be honest. We currently have a Fluval 205 running in our 29 gallon aquarium and I like the ease of its setup. I am considering possibly getting a different, or an additional, filter for the 72 gallon in place of the Eheim. I know that one should consider the fact that a filter performs UP TO a certain gallon rating. However, I also realize that a lot of filtration can be a good thing for a tank, as well. So, if it is recommended to just go with a Fluval filter, the question is which? The Fluval 305 goes up to 70 gallons and the Fluval 405 goes up to 100 gallons. Which would be best suited for my tank? Or what setup would you all recommend?