Live Rock with white powder, no ammonia levels

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by kimiko407, Feb 12, 2013.

1. kimiko407

kimiko407

Hi I'm really new to this so be patient please :)

So yesterday, I started a 5 gallon Fluval Chi tank with live sand and fully cured live rock from my LFS. I used Instant Ocean salt and mixed it with distilled water to a SG of 1.024. It got really cloudy once I put everything in the tank so I turned my filter on and waited for a few hours. Eventually it cleared up and I noticed my LR has a white covering of dust on it. I touched it to see if it was just from the sand but it doesn't come off so I assume this is just some natural die off? Anyways, I tested my water. PH- 8.2 Ammonia- 0 Nitrate-0 Nitrite-0. My water temperature is at 79 degrees. I also decided to put two small mangrove plant in the tray above the filter as well. Not sure if it'll do anything but it shouldn't be harmful I hope.

What should I do?
    Is my tank cycling or did I skip it by using live rock and live sand?
    If I have die off indicated by the white powder, shouldn't I have an ammonia spike that kick starts my cycle?

-Thank You.

kimiko407, Feb 12, 2013
    1. Advertisements

2. kimiko407

AmberSunrise

Yeah its probably some die off from the move.

You could throw in a raw table shrimp like you buy at the grocery store and let it sit for a few days until the ammonia goes up then down.

You will probably have a quick cycle but you should still force one none the less to ensure its ready for fish.

AmberSunrise, Feb 12, 2013
    1. Advertisements

3. kimiko407

kimiko407

Oh okay. I will put in a shrimp. When should I expect ammonia levels to spike?

kimiko407, Feb 12, 2013
  4. kimiko407

Neno reefs

I have the same question...

Neno reefs, Feb 12, 2013
  5. kimiko407

noy

Not sure if your white powder is die off - my experience is your rock turns dark/black and there is usually a smell associated with it.