My New Tank is Up!!

PRC

Stop Quoting Me!
So it's been awhile since my last post, but I finally took the plunge. I feel like I'm studying to be a Doctor and I still don't know anything!!.

BUT...I've got my tank up and running. I originally wanted to do something around 125g, but after pricing, etc. I decided to drop down to a 55g tank. Yesterday I woke up and got to work.

So here's where I'm at to this point.

55 gallon tank
Aqua Clear 300gph filter
Aqua Euro Protein Skimmer
40lbs of argonite (small)

No point in sending a picture, because it's still cloudy, but it's clearing up nicely.

I've got the tank mounted into the wall of my office (unfinished Newly crowned FISH ROOM on the other side)

I'm going to have a carpenter friend of mine come over and build a nice frame around the tank in the next couple of days.

But enough about me, let's talk about fish... obviously I'm a newb. but it seems I may have fallen in love with a fish. I'm absolutely in love with emperor angels(are they dwarf or large angels?). However, I don't know anything about them yet. How difficult are they to take care of? Do they have compatibilty problems with ALOT of other fish? I have the compatibility chart, but what I read on the forums and what I see in the charts sometimes differ...any help is greatly appreciated.

Once I get a couple pieces of LR in my tank I'll post some pics.

Last edited:
I hate to be the one to say it.But a 55 probably aint gonna work for an emperor angel.
They need at least 100 gallon tank.They are pretty fish though.

Go ahead and post a pic.:D We love to see a tank go from a glass box to thriving enviroment.

I hate to be the one to say it.But a 55 probably aint gonna work for an emperor angel.
They need at least 100 gallon tank.They are pretty fish though.

Doesn't that just figure... Oh well, I can still dream about it...Thanks for giving me a reason to hate my 55g. LOL