My progress so far!

txfan

Reefing newb
Hello to all! I am new to the hobby but have been reading posts in forums for quite a while. I've seen where people rush things or don't do research and end up wasting money and fish so I have been trying to do the opposite. My first setup ever is a 46 gallon bowfront with black stand. I started with just water and sand, then purchased 50 pounds of dry rock from reefcleaners.org. My only means or circulation so far is a brand new marineland canister filter I purchased about a month ago. Perfect example of being uneducated and buying a product without doing the research. I had only had freshwater aquariums in my life, and just assumed that filters were a must have in all aquariums. Now I know the canister filters eventually do more harm than good in saltwater aquariums. So eventually that will get sold or traded. About 3 days ago I finally got a good quality piece of live rock from a LFS and placed it in my tank to seed my dry rock. And went ahead and threw in a raw shrimp to get my cycle started. I will be buying test strips today because my quality test kit will not be in for a week or so and I know I need to be monitoring my water while the shrimp is in there to see the ammonia spike and to know when the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrates return to zero. Is there anything so far that I am overlooking or forgetting? I am going to careful about adding livestock so I plan to wait at least a month before adding any fish. I also would eventually like to try coral. My light is a 4X39 watt odyssea t-5. I know its not the best light out there, but it was farely priced and from the reviews I have read the company is making better products now. If I have any problems I will replace the ballasts and bulbs. But I figured this light would be sufficient for what I will be attempting. I have ordered 2 koralia 750 powerheads and will order more if needed. I haven't purchased a skimmer yet. But the one I will be purchasing is the SCAquariums 15