New and need a few answers...

budbreak96

P-Town
I am new to the saltwater thing and i have a 75 gallon tank. I got the tank and stand from a friend and it has about a 100 lbs of fiji live rock in it with some shrooms on it. I put new sand in it and all new water. Its cycling and the sand is turning brown and the rock is goldish brown. I hear this is good.

Well my questions are how many hermit crabs should i put in it to start out?

The tank had a 30 gallon tank under it with a nautaluis (spelled wrong) protien skimmer and the pumps and stuff. Well i did not use that stuff and instead put a Bio wheel Size 400 on it with two 1200 power heads and a heater in it. Is this set up ok? I am going to get a protien skimmer that hangs on the tank later on when i can. Someone told me that the bio wheels are no good and the lfs said its fine.

Any information at all on what i should do starting this tank up is greatly appericated.

Its been going for 2 weeks yesterday.

Thanks everyone, JOe

ps. i can take some pictures if ne one needs to see what all i have.

hermit crabs are up to you, more people usually just stick to snails since snails will eat algae off of anything and if you mix the two the hermit carbs will eventually prey on the snails for their shells since hermit cant make new shells on their own, but a good rule is 1 animal of your clean up crew per gallon of water. also the bio wheel is no good, someone with more experience will explain why, all i know is they are notoriously no good

Don't add anything to your tank until you finish your cycle. Which usally takes 6 weeks or so. Every tank is different. Just curious why you didn't use any of the sand or water? Is there anything else in the tank besides LR and coral? Post some pics so we can see your set up.

JOE