New Guy

Pyro

Reefing newb
Hello,
I am the new Guy... As of right now anyway.
I am in my mid 30's, wife and 4 year old son.

I currently have a 26 gallon tank with:
2 Clown fish 1 true and 1 false Percula
1 Hippo Tang 3-1/2 inches
1 Sailfin Tang
1 3 stripe Damsel
many Xenia
live rock

I have been battling aiptasia for about 2 months. I HATE this stuff. I have to admit I was feeding it at first then I found out what it was.

I am currently looking to upgrade to a 65 gallon tank. The widest I can go is about 40 inches. Until I hit the lottery and buy a much larger house.

Well thats about it. Cheers!:Cheers:

Hello Pyro. Welcome to Living Reefs. Get yourself so Aiptasia-X to rid your tank of the Aiptasia. It works very well if you keep on it.

couple of peppermint shrimp could help there are a bunch of good LFS in NJ and welcome

Heres the thing. I have had numerous Shrimp in the past. They all get eaten. :grumble: They live for a few days or weeks then I find a bit of carcus lying around or 1 leg floating on top. The hermit crabs dont eat the Aiptasa and I cant keep shrimp alive long enough to see if they will work out. I just have bad luck with shrimp. All they are for me is an expensive meal for my fish.

Thank you to everyone for welcoming me and offering advice.

Peppermint shrimp are usually really cheap. I threw 3 into my last tank and they only lived a few weeks but it was long enough for them to wipe out the aptaisa that was growing. I kept noticing there were suddenly fewer and fewer. I blamed it on a hitchhiker crab I never was able to catch until I broke the tank down.

Welcome to the site.

Wow,I'm floored, a hippo and a sailfin in a 26g.The sailfin grows to a foot and a half alone.It's like having your pet dog live in a closet.The humane thing to do is take them both back.