New reef tank

sankhamg

Reefing newb
I'm very new to this hobby and it's just 3 months since I've set up my tank. This is a total DIY set up since I live in Sri Lanka most of the saltwater aquarium equipment is not available. I've set up my biological filtering in a sump with 70 pounds of dead coral, 3x Bio marine poly filter pads, 2 large packs of carbon and a JAD 150G skimmer. I've used a deep live sand bed. Currently running 4x 4ft T5 tubes as lighting and led moonlights with 2x wave makers. Since I've got the dead coral out of a bigger established tank and water from the sea (Kida live close to beach) I added few corals and fish during 3 months period. I don't know much about the corals but I think I have a star polyps coral, SPS coral, and some leather coral with a lionfish and a bubble tip anemone. Since I'm so new to the hobby please let me know if I should change anything or add anything new to the set up.

img0872vd.jpg
img0869pr.jpg
img0862rf.jpg
img0877jb.jpg
img0876zq.jpg
img08731f.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0869.jpg
    IMG_0869.jpg
    176.5 KB · Views: 266
Last edited:
This is just a personal preference, but, I'd get rid of the crushed coral and just stick with sand. I don't like it. Also, what type of lights are you using? Are they meant for aquariums? If not, the reflectors on them are probably not very good for growing corals. I really like your Lionfish, but that really limits the selection of fish you can put with him. How big is your tank? And, on a last note, you should move this thread over to Tank Showcase :). Welcome and good luck! :mrgreen:

Also, I'd add some LR (Live Rock) or BR (Base Rock[Dead Rock]) to your tank. Bigger pieces so you can build a aquascape with it. A good thing to remember with rock structures is Shelves for corals and Arches/Caves for fish (to swim through/hide in when scared)