New Saltwater tank need help

Bauer5

Reefing newb
Hi fish community,

I'm new to saltwater tanks and I have experience in freshwater (75 Gallon). I just set up my old 30 gallon tank I had laying around and need some help. Its been set up for a month now. I have 6 damsels in there now, I got the damsels from my neighbor so I didn't pay for them and are only in my tank to help cycle it faster. ( I will be getting rid of them soon)

Heres my set up:
8lbs of live rock (might add 4 more pounds but I know your suppose to have 30lbs but I don't want a whole lot of rock)
thick live sand bed
Aqua- Tech hang on filter. 30-60 gallons, 330gph. (got it for free)
heater
power head

Question is: Is my filter going to handle a salt water tank. I've been reading that its best to have a sump (but that cost $200 or DIY $40). And canister filters are better but not the best and hang of carbon filter pads are the worst. Since I have a 30 gallon tank I've been told that the hang on could work but would be sorta difficult.

I plan to have a few fish:
diamond goby
peppermint shrimp
lawnmower blenny
blue hippo tang (1.5-3 inchs than upgrade tank later or give it away if it gets too big)
2 clown fish
maybe another goby (golden headed)

and thats it for fish, no coral.

As long as you keep up with your water changes and have plenty of live rock, there's really no need for a filter. (Unless you decide to venture into coral.... then I would look into a skimmer.)

Also in a 30 gallon tank you're limited to 3 (MAYBE 4) small fish. And even if you get a small hippo tang, it will be miserable in such a small tank. Please rethink that fish.

+1.