New Tank - What am I doing wrong?

Martja

Reefing newb
Hello All-

In the beginning of September 2012 I purchased a 150 gal tank with a 40 gal sump. When I was a teenager my dad and I did some freshwater and saltwater aquariums (only up to 55), but this is my first time doing the experience on my own. I decided I wanted to go with a larger tank and in the long-run as a reef tank. During the month of September I added my substrate and dry/live rock. I went with roughly 175 lbs of dry rock to seed with roughly 50 lbs of what was considered "highly cultivated" live rock. In addition, I went with about a 1 inch bedding of substrate on the bottom. At this time I was using purple up and Seachem buffer for ph. I also installed my own RO/DI water system and prepared my water for first time and exchanges; in addition was running my protein skimmer.

I waited roughly nine weeks with continued testing and finally purchased 5 yellow tail damsels to test out the tank. At this time my water was 76 F, 1.024 salinity, 8.3 ph, no traces of ammonia, nitrite, or nitrate. In addition, I never noticed really any activity with ammonia, nitrite, or nitrate to determine that a cycled had occurred. I acclimated the damsels over a 1.5 hour period by doing the following: dip bag into tank for 30 min, exchanged 1 cup water bag with 1 cup of tank water, wait 15 minutes, repeated those steps for 4 exchanges, then netted them from the bag into the tank. Within 24 hours all five of the damsels were dead and I was severely taken back by this because I thought I was doing everything correctly and slowly. This also took some of my energy from the aquarium, but I decided to give it more time and continue testing.