new to corals

jamestown478

Reefing newb
I am new to corals and while checking out my local fish store I seen that there are a bunch of "additives" that they sell like coral accel and so on. Is any of this stuff any good or is it just a waste of money?

If you get salt with nutrients in it like instant ocean reef crystals then you don't need that. Corals get most of what they need from photosynthesis.

90% of tanks dont need those additives. Just doing regular water changes is more than enough.

The rule for additives, is dont dose for you what dont test for. Over doses are common and be quite deadly.

If all your testing does show that your chronically low, on say calcium, even with regular water changes, then dose. Otherwise its needless.

ok, when I bought my tank "kit" from the fish store it came with a 2 bottle nano reef a and b ion and buffer system made by KENTs. That stuff any good?

Your salt (as long as its a reef salt, which the vast majority are) will have all of that stuff in the proper levels, so i dont think you would ever need that.

For most corals, you won't need to add anything. Later on down the road, if you start to keep more sensitive corals, dosing may become a necessity. But for the most part, water changes take care of most things, as others have said.

If your tank and you are new at this then they gave you that A and B for a reason; most new people dont test their water. That A and B is calcium and ph buffer, so if you stop using it then you really need to be testing. These guys are assuming you mix your own water, but if you buy it, like lots of new poeple do, then you may not know what the salt mix is. If you buy your water you need to ask what they use for the mix, ie; the brand and type.