New to hobby please help

ajay

Reefing newb
I am completely new to salt water aquariums. I have had many fresh water aquariums in the past and would now like to get into salt water. I am extremely confused on where to start. I am looking to get a 55 gallon tank and would like to house clown fish and maybe a yellow tang. I would also like some very simple coral like mushrooms and other easy beginner corals. I am confused on alot of things for example live rock vs. dry rock i don't understand the difference, what a protein skimmer is and do i need one, etc.. My biggest concern is the filtration system, i don't understand how it works for salt water. I keep seeing threads about sumps but i feel like that is a ton of work and could get very annoying. I would like to slowly start into this hobby so i can learn and progress, and also i would not like to drop a lot of money because my budget is limited to an extent. Thank you.

Welcome! The members here are very helpful. Unfortunately, I think a 55 is too small for a yellow tang. Live rock is rock that has live bacteria growing on it. All rock will eventually become live. I would suggest you buy a protein skimmer. It will take out all the gunk at the surface of the water. You shouldn't keep a canister filter, that will just be a nitrate factory. I learned that the hard way. Although a sump isn't really needed, it could help out by adding more water volume to your tank and hiding equipment.

Hey Ajay, welcome to the forum.

Don't worry, I was in the same position just over a week ago, and I feel I know so much already! ;)

It's a lot simpler than it looks. When you look at sumps, they are very intimidating, but it's not too bad. I'm quite the novice so I'll try break down some of the things you're asking in the shortest and simplest way, but if you wish to know more, then the more experienced posters will gladly help you out.

Live rock - *Wiki quote* :