New to reefing and LED power

charlesp123

charlesp123
Hello all,
I am wanting to put LED lighting in my 30 gallon breeder tank that is 12" tall x 36" x 18". When I purchased my whole setup I just went to my LFS and had them piece it together for me.... Got raped on everything. They gave me the 36" Coralife T5 high output dual lamp (which I paid $160 for). Now I am wanting to build a LED lighting system so that I can alter the lighting throughout the day. I have some experience in LED lighting, but as far as the amount of power or PAR that is going into the tank is a little confusing to me. If anyone knows how strong/how many/how high of LEDs I need to grow SPS in my tank I would greatly appreciate the info.

Thanks everyone

By the time you spend with putting together one, youll spend more than just buying out right. Check out kessil leds, one single light that is controlable and proven to grow some coral. Lights are the biggest investment in growing coral, alot depends on lighting dont skimp. Good luck.

I checked out those kessil leds and they seemed really nice. I just like to build things and know everything in and out about it. Do you know what power and quantity of LED lights one would need for a tank 12" tall and 36" long, to grow SPS?

It all depends on what leds you go with, the degree of the lense, if you can dim them? Getting them to be water resistant, heat sink, controller, power supply, proper spacing seems like a headache to me and getting them right the first time? Check out rapid led and they will give you a "kit" to build that will work with your set up.

I checked out those kessil leds and they seemed really nice. I just like to build things and know everything in and out about it. Do you know what power and quantity of LED lights one would need for a tank 12" tall and 36" long, to grow SPS?

Charles,