New to saltwater...help

Tab

Reefing newb
Ok I'm new to this. I was given a 30 gallon aquarium that has been established. It came with a tige goby and a brittle/serpent starfish (don't know the difference). I brought it home saturday. Sunday I bought 3 damsels. I acclimated them very slowly for 1 1/2-2 hours. Yesterday when I went home for lunch one was dead. I tested my water and my ph level was about 7.8. My ammonia was 0 and nitrite 0. My nitrate was highest the chart showed. When I set up the aquarium I put 5 gallons of clean water that the lady gave me first then added the other 25 gal. I dont want to lose my stock so HELP please. Sunday I sat and watched my new babies for 6 hours. I didn't even watch the saints game(Louisiana resident lol). I noticed in one of my live rock about 8 or more little things sticking out. They r white and red striped with little fuzz or hairs on them. They are about 1/2-1 inch long and about the size of a hair or thread. The lady told me they r probably bristle worms and I should take em out. I looked on line and they don't look like the pics I saw. They look like starfish. Is that possible being that mine is alone. Help me make this a good experience. Thanks...

Well with live rock I have found that many things can lay dormant in it till things are just right. There are things you dont see that show them selfs one day. Or are in plain view and one day you notice it... I started a thread called "that crazy liverock" I found out some wild things both good and not so good that lurk with in it and on it. I would not worry to much on it yet. If it is not a good thing then there are ways to remove it. :D

You should do a large water change to bring the nitrates down and test again. If it's still high, you'll have to do another, and perhaps another. Once they're down to a normal or 'safe' level, do a 5 gallon water change every week.