New to Saltwater Tank...confused!

sakie

Reefing newb
Hi, I'm new to this saltwater hobby and I have serious questions that need some experts advice. I just started out my 65g saltwater without LR but when I bought the LR from a person, I placed it my tank to cycle it faster. Well, as of right now, I spotted so many pests! I'm not sure what it is, is it harmful or not. I checked out the link posted as sticky about pests but some of the pests from my tank isn't listed. Here's my question.
1. Should I nuke my whole tank with "hot" water to kill off everything and start all over with "dead rock" (assuming that hot water will kill all the bacterias inside the LR)?
2. Should I wait until my tank is complete it cycle and find a way to get rid of the pests?
3. Should I pour chemical into my tank to kill off all the pests?

Thanks a bunch.

There are many hitchhikers in LR that arent pests...Pictures would be the best thing to show so we can tell if its that drastic...

Don't nuke the whole tank. Live rock is extremely important and killing all the live rock would set you back.

Post pictures of what you have. There are good pests and bad pests. And most of the bad pests are very easy to take care of and nothing to panic over.

First of all, Thank you very much. Second, my camera is crappy and I cannot get a focus on the pests and the worm isn't showing up during the day (I'm assuming). I asked my friend to lend me his camera to take the picture of it. I hope to post it by today and await for yours input on the matter.

Most worms are harmless and even beneficial to our tanks. Don't do anything yet. See if you can somehow post some pics or at least a detailed description and we can get things sorted out for you. There are also some links posted around here somewhere for good and bad hitchhikers. I will see if I can find it for you.
Here's one... Xtalreef - Reef Saltwater Aquarium
Hope that helps