New to site and looking for help...

rees83usaf

Reefing newb
Hey guys! I am new to the site and thought I would say hello as I was advised... Haha... So, here goes!

I am new to the saltwater thing kinda i guess... I have only been in the hobby about 2 years. I am pretty familiar with reef tanks but fish are a whole new thing for me. I have a 20 gallon nano that I love. Its doing very well. I have had this one up and running about 4 months. I have live rock in it with some random slugs that hitched a ride. The Coraline algae has begun to bloom all over and it is starting to look very alive. This one is not the problem though.

Back in Dec, I recieved a 55 gallon aquarium and stand and all that as a Christmas present b/c I mentioned to my roomates how I wanted ot start having fish. So, they all bought me a nice 55 gallon aquarium and stand and a few supplies... Nice of them wouldnt ya say? So, I filled it with sand, a few dead rocks, and all that. After about a month, I added some fish. nothing special... A tellow tang, peppermint shrimp, star, and a couple chromis. Just to see how it worked out. Well, the fish are still alive after 4 months so, i guess thats a good sign. However, I cant gorw ANY algae in my aquarium.