New to tanks! Need advise please

lmurtha1

Reefing newb
Hey guys/gals,

So im new to having an aquarium and want to get off to the right start. One of my good friends is a commercial exotic fish catcher, and Ive helped him a few times here and there. I think its pretty neat how they collect the fish.

So here is what I need some help with,

I want a 300 gallon saltwater tank. I know it takes a lot of time and effort to maintain it. that is what I look forward too! Do you suggest glass or acrylic? Also, In your opinions, what are the best of the best accessories i need for this tank. I want it to be beautiful and a centerpiece in my home.

Lets say money is no object here. I just want the best supporting mods etc money can buy for this tank. What do you all suggest I get?

I Would get a nice Drilled Glass Tank, and get like a 100gl sump or bigger
Thats what i would start out with.

I Have a 125gl tank now and i also have a 280gl in storage for when i buy my house. When i do set up the 280gl my 125 gl is more than likely going to become the sump.

Welcome aboard! Sounds like it will be an awesome build. Good luck with it and share lots of pics!
Go for the new Ecotech Radions for lighting :D

thank you all for your help!!! I really like his build, top notch!!! I may just follow that line but do a few things different. i got in contact with a guy down here who seemed like hes very knowledgeable. Not sure, so ill ask you guys, but he said a beautiful 300 gal. glass tank with some ??fire front glass (i guess ultra clear?) and the best of the best you can get from filtration all the way to lights, installed around $9,500 give or take. That was a rough guesstimate, we didn't actually look up every little thing until i pull the trigger. What do you think?