New to the forum, New tank

calla969

Reefing newb
Hi everyone, I am brand new to this forum and I am pretty new to the aquarium hobby. I have had saltwater aquariums in the past but they have always been very simple fish only tanks. I have just purchased a 90 gallon tank with a wet/dry filter, protein skimmer and a crappy double 48" flourescent light fixture. I am trying to do this on a low budget if I can. I plan to buy live sand, live rock, improve my lighting by adding first, a set of VHO 48" tubes (while keeping the current ones as well), and then possibly adding some MH lights as well. I also will probably either add a refugium for filteration purposes or converting the wet/dry to act as a refugium. I would love to get some input on what I should do first, what I should not do and any other helpful tips you guys can offer. I guess I should add that I would like to focus on fish and live rocks for now and maybe try to add some coral some day.
Thanks everyone, Chris

One thing you dont want to do is get in a hurry,Which is alot harder than it sounds.
I also agree with George on getting the lights set up so that you can add coral when your ready.
Do alot of reading,researching,and ask be sure to ask any questions you come up with.And just when you think you got it down,start all over.
There are some very helpful articals at the top of the page.
And welcome to the reef and the addiction.

Hello and welcome. Unfortunately, no matter which way you go, lights for a 90 gallon are going to be expensive. Some options are cheaper than others, but using VHO may very well restrict what you can and cannot have in your tank. But it sounds like you are on the right track. Keep us updated and feel free to ask any questions that you might have, and remember to go slow.