Newb from North Carolina

firefighter5325

Reefing newb
Hows it going guys & gals. I am just starting out in the world of saltwater, so I have been doing alot of reading and talking to local pet shops/aqaurium owners. will probly be looking for a little help every now and then. Hopefully one day I will be able to help some others out.

I have always wanted a saltwater aqaurium and just havnt had the funds to do everything properly so i didnt want to go in and kill a lot of innocent fish(I am a firm beliver in dont kill anything that you are not gonna eat or is trying to kill you, spiders are the exception to this rule though). I have had aqariums in the past just they have always been freshwater and much smaller.

After doing some reading and finding that it is actualy easier to start with a bigger tank since it is more forgiving to beginner mistakes I am starting out with a 55 gallon tank.
A friend was getting rid of his aquarium so I picked up a few things he had left over.
I have purchased so far the heater not 100% sure of the brand however I do know it is adjustable.
I have a hood with 4 bulbs (2 white 55w 10000K, 2 55w blue).
A whisper 60 hang on filter.
(this is all that the guy had in his aquarium it always stayed dirty and did not look apealing).
So far I have purchased 45bs of fiji standard live rock from liveaquaria will be here next thursday its was on sale for a 69 from 109 so I figured i would save some money and order it a little early. I will probly get some more cured to seed one the tank has established I want around 90lbs or so in the end.
I have got 60lbs of carbian live sand picked it up from pets mart Im still not sure if this will be enough or not.
I have the stuff to do the bacteria bed a local guy told me to get the grating for flourecent lights and some fiber glass mesh to put in the bottom under the sand.
I still have to get a protien skimmer, uv sanitizer, power heads, and a ro/di unit.