newbie in need of help

samstern

Reefing newb
so i am doing research on what needs to happen to start my new saltwater tank. my main issue is that i cant find a complete list of the supplies and other materials for the tank. can someone either give me a link or comment with a complete list? i have nothing and don't want to buy anything until i have a complete list. im new to reefing and need as much help as i can get.

also if someone could give me an estimate of how much the WHOLE setup for a 100 gallon reef tank i would really appreciate it

I was at almost the $5k mark before my 180 was wet, but there were things I'd do over if I had the oppertunity

You could ask 10 different people to list what is required for a tank and you'll get 10 different lists. Have you looked at any books on the subject? There are several good ones out there - but I would start with The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner

Its not all inclusive, but you'd need:
Tank (a cover is a good idea as well)
Stand
Heater(s) (3-6 watts per gallon)
Lighting (more important if your goal is to keep coral)
Powerheads (10x-30x tank volume per hour)
Salt
Refratometor
Nets
5 Gallon buckets / rubbermaids
Sump (optional)
Sand (~ 1-2 pounds per gallon)
Rock (at least some of it needs to be live, you want a total of 1-2 pounds per gallon minimum)

Most importantly, you need a PLAN. Are there certain fish that you really want to have? If so, this is the time to think about them, and plan the system around them. I spent over 9 months researching and planning my tank out before I spent a single penny

As far as an estimate goes, assuming you want lights for a reef setup and you bought everything new, you're easily breaking the $1000 mark