Nitrate levels..

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by MikMcgyver, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. MikMcgyver

    MikMcgyver Vlamingi owner 4 life!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I know I should not be concerned with nitrate levels between 5-20ppm , I freak a lil bit and test like 3 times a day and its getting expensive.

    I have my lil 12 gallon, till i get the 125, and it doesnt really have much filtration, cept the bunch of filterfloss I have jammed in the back compartments..I rinse the filterfloss about once a week or so, when I remember

    All my parameters check decent

    Nitrite 0
    Nitrate 5-20ppm
    Alk 300ppm
    pH- 8.2-8.4
    Dont know ammonia or my salinity yet, gotta get a test for ammoni9 and get a refractometer for salinity.

    My question is:

    Without a skimmer or some type of mechanical filtration will my nitrate levels always be there?

    I would like to mod the back chamber area of the tank, where all the filterfloss is located. In a perfect world there would be a skimmer that I could just drop in there and be done, but this most likely will not be the case.

    Here is a basic diagram
    [​IMG]

    If I removed wall 2 in the diagram joining chamber 2 & 3 together Is there a skimmer out there that would fit in there, be able to be submersed fully in water, and still get the job done? the chamber is approx 7 3/4" wide, 2 3/4" front to back, and 9" deep.Possibly the sapphire nanoskimmer? ne1 have any luck or experience with one of those?

    Help and opinions, as always, are appreciated..
     
    MikMcgyver, Sep 17, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MikMcgyver

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    You can do water changes or use a deep sand bed for natural nitrate reduction. Another option is dosing sugar or vodka to you tank to build bacteria that eat nitrate. You want to dose I suggest you do some serious research before you try.
     
    bobby, Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MikMcgyver

    MikMcgyver Vlamingi owner 4 life!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Dont really want to dose much. Have about 20lbs in LS(3" deep), 15 in LR, do water changes everyother day, nitrates still high..
     
    MikMcgyver, Sep 17, 2007
    #3
  4. MikMcgyver

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    What is your level at? I would add a skimmer. For a small tank you dont need one, because you can easily do more or larger water changes to keep it low, but a skimmer will help keep it low and you wont have to do soo many water changes. My tank has been set up a year now and it has always had nitrates, but they stay at about 10
     
    bobby, Sep 17, 2007
    #4
  5. MikMcgyver

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    Have you tried purigen? I know it removes proteins,nitrite and nirate, and ammonia.
     
    Piggy, Sep 17, 2007
    #5
  6. MikMcgyver

    Alexander

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7,208
    Likes Received:
    558
    Location:
    Boise ID
    3 times a day is overboard my friend. and 5-2 is just fine. just wasting your time on your tests
     
    Alexander, Sep 17, 2007
    #6
  7. MikMcgyver

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yeah you're wasting your money testing that often. 20 is fine for nitrates.
     
    Bifferwine, Sep 17, 2007
    #7
  8. MikMcgyver

    joeman MorphingSquid

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Frankfurt, Germany
    I tried using a Fission Nano skimmer on my 29g - took it off in the end as I just didn't like it - it relied upon a piece of sponge to force the foam up into the collection cup, so as the sponge gets clogged it changes the performance of the skimmer... needed constant attention. I am now back to 10-20% water changes once a week and all is well (i don't test for Nitrates, but algae growth tells me if I have a problem...)

    If you do want to add equipment, you could get stuff that you could then use for your 125... ie a skimmer rated for the 125 and just keep it out the back of the Nano.

    On my larger tanks I use a Koralin BioDenitrator to keep Nitrates at zero. They replace the sugar/vodka dosing idea by providing an environment where Nitrate-eating bacteria thrive... they are very effective. Depends how badly you want to chase zero Nitrates.
     
    joeman, Sep 17, 2007
    #8
  9. MikMcgyver

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Why not just put some cheatomopha macroalgae in the sump?

    I used the Fission Nano skimmer on my 30g and had the same results at Joeman. When it works, it works great. But tomorrow, it will need probably need to be adjusted again. In the sump--where the water level is constant-- it would probably do better. I had mine in the tank and a water level fluctuation of just 1/4" would throw it all outta whack and it either wouldn't produce any foam--or if the level got too high, it was watery foam. But, it might do better in a sump where the water level is constant. I just took my sponge out and rinsed it under the tap about once a week.

    They measure 2" diameter X 6.5" height. The powerhead can be placed under it or to the side. With the powerhead under it, the height ends up like 9". If you place the powerhead on the side, it ends up about 5" wide.

    If you want to try one, I have one that only has a couple months use on it. I'll ship it to ya for $20. Includes a couple extra sponges. It's not squeaky clean, but I did rinse/scrub it pretty well. It's got a few spots of coraline on it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2007
    Rcpilot, Sep 17, 2007
    #9
  10. MikMcgyver

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    The cheapest way to cut down on the nitrate is to cut down on the bio-load.If you have three fish,try having two instead.Doing water changes every other day is too often.Spending all that money on denitrators and skimmer isn't worth it on a nano.BTW,20ppm nitrate isn't so bad.
     
    reeffreak, Sep 17, 2007
    #10
  11. MikMcgyver

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Freak is right, water changes every other day will be way more stressful to your tank inhabitants than nitrate levels of 20. Take a chill pill :D. I had nitrates spike to 150 one time (DAMN SEA CUCUMBER -- STAY AWAY FROM CUKES!!!!) and I don't think I lost anything. I'm not saying that things can survive in nitrates of 150 ppm, I'm just saying 20 isn't bad at all.
     
    Bifferwine, Sep 17, 2007
    #11
  12. MikMcgyver

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    THE onlt time that nitrates at as high as 20 are bad,is when your keeping SPS corals.
    There are also a lot of soft corals that actually do better if you have some nitrates in the water.
     
    yote, Sep 17, 2007
    #12
  13. MikMcgyver

    hibye

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,667
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    PA USA
    i say that ther is only one god cuke and thats the pink and green ones mines been through a lot and never let out toxin. ill share one story the cleaner attacked him so i took the shrimp out and traded it for a star.
     
    hibye, Sep 17, 2007
    #13
  14. MikMcgyver

    hibye

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,667
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    PA USA
    [​IMG]
     
    hibye, Sep 17, 2007
    #14
  15. MikMcgyver

    MikMcgyver Vlamingi owner 4 life!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Thanks guys, I have actually gone all day without testing, I just said "NO" I will not test today... :) Im just gonna deal without a skimma in the nano.. Just mess with it a bit
     
    MikMcgyver, Sep 18, 2007
    #15
  16. MikMcgyver

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    LMAO,
    Mike,I know its hard not to test.I'm just now,after a little over a year getting to where I only test once a week.
    I'm paronid about my tank.
     
    yote, Sep 18, 2007
    #16
    MikMcgyver likes this.
  17. MikMcgyver

    MikMcgyver Vlamingi owner 4 life!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    The only thing I will test more often then once a week is my salinity.. this 12 gallon has wicked swings in salinity...
     
    MikMcgyver, Sep 18, 2007
    #17
  18. MikMcgyver

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Now I still test salinity every day.
     
    yote, Sep 18, 2007
    #18
  19. MikMcgyver

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    I only test the salinity before I do a water change, and thats it. I used to test alot but I hardly do it at all unless I think there is something up. Which reminds me I should test the calcium; it has been along time.
     
    bobby, Sep 18, 2007
    #19
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.