pH, temperature and refugium lighting quedtions

rbdrainv

Reefing newb
Ok, I am extremely new at saltwater aquariums. I spent a number of weeks reading all about saltwater tanks to try prepare myself as much as possible before I started. I recently purchased a 45g bowfront with 30g sump second hand. In the sump I have a protein skimmer (that I've been adjusting and seems to be doing its job), refugium with sand, live rock and a light, 200w heater and a small filter with activated carbon. In the main tank I have a DSB (5") with 75lbs of live rock that has now been in the tank for 3-4 weeks. The top of my main tank is covered with glass except for a 5" strip across the back of the tank, and I put clear plastic across the top of my sump to reduce evaporation because I was loosing so much water. Everything seems to be running well and doing it's job. However, I have a few questions.

1. I am having a hard time keeping my temperature constant. The tank is in a room that I usually keep the windows and doors closed to to keep my dog out. I have been monitoring the temperature for a number of days now and it has fluctuated anywhere form +/- 2-3 degrees in some cases. I am not sure why this is. The heater seems to be working properly. I know it could have to do with the room being closed/air movement, temperature fluctuations in the house and water surface exposure but I was wondering if anyone had any advice for ideal conditions or what I should try.

2. This is somewhat minor but the setup I purchased came with a small clip on light for the refugium in the sump. I don't know what kind of bulb he had in it but I notice the temperature increase slightly when the light is on. I was wondering what kind of light I should have down there and what kind of schedule it should be on? I have been keeping the lights in my main tank off for the most part to prevent an algae bloom while the tank cycled.