Protein Skimmers...

chade

Reefing newb
Hey im a total noob to this to excuse my ignorance, but I just got my 30G tank with sand, live rock filter and heater. My question is, is it necessary to get a skimmer right away, will the fish live with out one, im trying to save up and recupe some of my money again before i go spend some more. So would fish be fine for like a month without a skimmer? Or is it a pretty much must have before you get fish in there. Thanks

So what about after ti cycles,how long could i run with out a skimmer and like 2 fish and some crabs and what not.

I will let someone else help with that one. I have run one from about the second week of the cycle and it always pulls brown juice, so as long as it is doing that I consider it a needed item.

If you have another form of filtration, I think you would probably be fine without a skimmer, just be careful to monitor your water parameters and do regular water changes.

good to hear that...personally protein skimmers are a must in salwater tanks...cause it helps break down biological waste and helps oxigenate the tank...if yours is cycling..some livestock off the rock will die..so protein skimmer will help keep your parameters safe and it will help in the process of cycling..remember frecuent water changes....and welcome to LR..

Like every body else said,just keep an eye on your paremeters.You could run without a skimmer as long as you keep up your maintance.But I wouldn,t recommend it.
Just make sure you get a good skimmer the first time so you dont end up having to spend more money on another one.

PS
Dont forget to look into powerheads too.