PureWaterClub Part II

Discussion in 'Vendor Evaluations' started by sen5241b, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. sen5241b

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    I replaced my DI, floss and carbon filters this week, Replaced the RO filter a month ago and now I have 19 TDS, I'm just about ready to abandon the filter.
     
    sen5241b, Apr 30, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. sen5241b

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    try to re calibrate your tds to make sure that is not the problem
     
    daugherty, Apr 30, 2010
    #2
    sen5241b likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. sen5241b

    VAreef

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Hillsboro, TN
    Are you sure you don't have leak by on the RO membrane? Maybe redo those seals and see if that helps.
     
    VAreef, May 1, 2010
    #3
    sen5241b likes this.
  4. sen5241b

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Good call -- I'll check those seals out. How do you calibrate a TDS meter?
     
    sen5241b, May 2, 2010
    #4
  5. sen5241b

    OmegaOmega

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Mine came with a packet of solution, it has a screw on the back and you dip it in the solution - press hold and screw til it says zero.

    You can also buy the solution for real cheap through amazon.com.
     
    OmegaOmega, May 2, 2010
    #5
  6. sen5241b

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    apparently the auto shut off valve can also contribute to your TDS readings, after calibration, be sure the cut off is actually cutting off, if there is water allways comming out the drain line then replace the ASO.... thats what i did and it solved my tds problems, and i never replaced any of my media...
     
    project5k, May 2, 2010
    #6
  7. sen5241b

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I got my TDS calibration fluid off of Ebay. It was like $4.
     
    Bifferwine, May 2, 2010
    #7
  8. sen5241b

    coolhandgoose

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Or just get some distilled water, that'll read 0.
     
    coolhandgoose, May 2, 2010
    #8
  9. sen5241b

    OmegaOmega

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    That's not always a guarantee depending on the source... Calibration fluid would be a safer/better bet if you want to ensure overall accuracy.
     
    OmegaOmega, May 2, 2010
    #9
  10. sen5241b

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yeah. What if your refractometer is reading low? Like, if it's supposed to read 1.026, but it's actually reading 1.020? If you calibrate that using distilled water (at zero), then you have no idea of knowing if it's reading low. If it's reading high, you can calibrate it to distilled water, but not if it's reading low.
     
    Bifferwine, May 2, 2010
    #10
  11. sen5241b

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    yea after changing everything but the ro membrane, i'm back up to getting almost 100 tds, and yes i've calibrated.. i dunno what i'm gonna do now... i'm getting tired of waiting 2 days everytime i send them an email...
     
    project5k, Jun 7, 2010
    #11
  12. sen5241b

    Brian_G overly obsessed

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    have you gotten any water out of it?

    are you on city water or well water?

    if its well water then you could have very high co2 like i do in my well water. which will exhaust di very quickly and then cause the ions not to trap "stuff"
     
    Brian_G, Jun 9, 2010
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.