Red Slime, I'm going Crazy

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by Ariel110G, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. Ariel110G

    Ariel110G

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    So I got red slime algae again for the 3rd time about in 18 months, in all the times I have used red slime remover with no ill effects at all to corals or fish, the red slime went away but it comes back in a few months, I have a 75G tank with 9 fish medium and small, my corals are Zoa, Mushrooms, Polyps, Kenya Tree, big Sun Coral, some Xenias over all softies, and 6 RBTA small and medium in size that keep splitting on me, (that’s another problem) but over all I have to say that my coals are all flourishing, I have a big MegaFlow#4 sump with rubble rock and DSB refugim with macro algae, my skimmer is the Eshopps PSH100H, I run carbon & GFO and bio pellets, I don’t have hair algae problems at all.
    I feed my fish only frozen food, I feed them everything. I would consider my tank to be well feed.
    So why is the red slime coming back, I don’t want to keep using it even that their where no ill affect, I want to take care of the cause of the problem, I’m starting to think that my skimmer is just under rated for my tanks need. (Not that I have the $$ for a new bigger one)
    What do you think?
     
    Ariel110G, Nov 24, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ariel110G

    Aquarian

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    1,199
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Post some pictures it always helps. What's your water flow like in your tank?
     
    Aquarian, Nov 25, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ariel110G

    monique

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    northern ontario, canada
    i use that red sea no3:p04-x phospate reducer and i find that it doubles the crap coming out of my skimmer. i had an on-off cyno problem too. started using the red sea n0p0 and it cleared up. took a couple or 3 wks though. also i moved my powerheads around to get more flow and i cut back on my food.
     
    monique, Nov 25, 2014
    #3
  4. Ariel110G

    Ariel110G

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    I have a marineland 5500 for my pump, in one section of my sump I have a hydor 850 just to mix things up, and in the refugim section I have a nano hydor, and for my main and a MP-10, and I’m looking into getting a used MP-40 soon
     
    Ariel110G, Nov 25, 2014
    #4
  5. Ariel110G

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Pictures of it would be helpful, most of the time red slime is in low flow areas. It may be that you have some "dead" areas because of the aqua scape.
     
    Ted, Nov 25, 2014
    #5
    Aquarian likes this.
  6. Ariel110G

    puzzles

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    12
    puzzles, Dec 5, 2014
    #6
  7. Ariel110G

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    ErinCahir, Dec 5, 2014
    #7
    mariobrothersleeve likes this.
  8. Ariel110G

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    What to say.... what to say.
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Dec 5, 2014
    #8
  9. Ariel110G

    mariobrothersleeve squirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ok......
    From the op opinion I couldn't agree more.
    I have ran my eshoops skimmer (hob) and thought it was great. Completely wrong. The throat is to narrow for bubbles to form and the actual suspension of waste. It pulled 1/10 of a month what my Diablo skimmer does in a week.
    If money is an issue, I would increase cuc and run wet skimmate.
    On my personal preference, I would pull the gfo. Feed the fish, pull gfo, pull all phosphate removers.
    Open rock work, anti sync your pumps and you'll be good to go.
    This is a permanent fix, not a temporary.
    May I ask your lighting and cycle time?
     
    mariobrothersleeve, Dec 5, 2014
    #9
  10. Ariel110G

    jzaso

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Florida
    I would be rinsing the frozen food well with r/o- cyano also loves low salinity-
     
    jzaso, Dec 9, 2014
    #10
  11. Ariel110G

    ClownKing

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port st Lucie, Florida
    I would try red slime it works for me. 20140507_122413.jpg
     
    ClownKing, Dec 13, 2014
    #11
  12. Ariel110G

    puzzles

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    12
     
    puzzles, Dec 15, 2014
    #12
  13. Ariel110G

    Ted Living one day at a time

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    very cool product
     
    Ted, Dec 16, 2014
    #13
  14. Ariel110G

    jzaso

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Florida
    I would look for the root problem or you are always fighting it -what is your Fe levels? high iron is cyano fuel,
     
    jzaso, Dec 17, 2014
    #14
    mariobrothersleeve likes this.
  15. Ariel110G

    BigDeal

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Grow algae. I have no protein skimmer was using an up flow algae filter which after about a month with good red shift lighting I could over feed with almost no affect only down night time pH would shift more than a good protein skimmer.so the trick there is have two algae filters on two different over lapping light cycles. Cheaper than most other things made mine out paint tray.lol.
     
    BigDeal, Feb 23, 2015
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.