resealing a tank

robj6767

Reefing newb
Hi there, I just got my hands on a 75 gallon tank that was in rough shape with the seals. As i have never done this before with a tank, I'm looking for any help on tricks or information on how to do so. My main question is, do I have to seperate the glass and do the complete seal or can I strip off the old inside and then just reseal fromt he inside. The seal across the bottom of the tank seems fine and it is only the edges on the sides that are a bit old. The tank came from an aquarium and was already predrilled on the bottom, but the previous owner sealed that with a plate of glass. I don't have any worries about that leaking as its got a very good seal around it. What I do have a worry about is only resealing the sides. should I just reseal the entire tank or will the silicone adhear to the silicone across the bottom? If so, is a company called xiameter a good place for purchasing silicones online? I've heard good things about them but just wanted to double check.

Hello and welcome!

You can get silicone at any hardware store. I'd do that rather than order it online. I'm not quite sure I understand why you want to get it online.

If the bottom looks okay, then I'd just re-do the sides. Less work that way!

Just make sure that the silicone doesnt have any antimicrobial or midewcides in it. If it says "kitchen and bath" on the front, it most likely has those in it.

I have used Loctite brand silicone. It is a bit more than the store brands, but it says aquarium safe on it. But I never had to reseal a tank.

You can also test the tank by filling it up with water and letting it sit for a few days.

I would also think taking the plate that is covering the drilled holes and setting up an overflow with a sump. It would be easier to do now that the tank is empty than later on when you have the tank set up.

BTW where in chicago are you? I am on the south side. Welcome to the site.