Reverse osmosis filter

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Homer, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Homer

    Homer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Hi, guys...

    today went to my LFS spent there 260 dollars, this is what I came home with....

    A, reverse osmosis filter and return pump.

    I have question about the reverse osmosis filter, is it suitable for my reef aquarium.

    Here is the link AquaHolland AquaPro 50 Plus

    but basically it has 3 stages:

    Fase 1: Sedimentfilter
    Fase 2: Koolfilter
    Fase 3: RO Membraan
     
    Homer, Jan 24, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Homer

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    reverse osmosis filters will work best. Get a count down timer, many people have left the thing running, got an overflow and wasted water, filters and money.
     
    sen5241b, Jan 24, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Homer

    Homer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    i don`t understand....
     
    Homer, Jan 24, 2013
    #3
  4. Homer

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    Basically, the first couple times you use your filter to make water, time it to see how long it takes to fill up the container. After that, set a timer, such as a cooking timer, for that long so that way you can go and do other things instead of watching the water container fill up.
     
    bjohanson1234, Jan 24, 2013
    #4
  5. Homer

    Homer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Will do that :) ... But the question is... will it be ok ? :) I am brinking the water tomorrow to LFS to do a TDS test :)
     
    Homer, Jan 24, 2013
    #5
  6. Homer

    chichimom79 reef junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    Southwest Missouri
    Sometimes an RO filter is sufficient and sometimes you will need the DI stage. It really depends on the water you are purifying. Good luck on the TDS
     
    chichimom79, Jan 24, 2013
    #6
  7. Homer

    Homer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    tnx. fingers crossed :)
     
    Homer, Jan 24, 2013
    #7
  8. Homer

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    It's a 3 stage RO unit. Usually it's recommended to buy a 4 stage unit -- with the last stage being a DI stage (hence the name RODI unit instead of just RO unit). Like Chichi said, what you bought may be okay depending on the quality of the water going in. I wouldn't be surprised if you guys had much better water quality over there than we do here in the US.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 24, 2013
    #8
  9. Homer

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,029
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    TDS mteters are cheap and it will be best to get one for yourself
     
    sen5241b, Jan 25, 2013
    #9
  10. Homer

    Homer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Yes, I will buy it... But now the thing is... If the TDS test will show, 30 or something after filtering, I will bring the filtration system back and get my money back .... If it will be ok, then I keep it, and buy TDS, so I know, when I have to change my filter sockets...
     
    Homer, Jan 25, 2013
    #10
  11. Homer

    Homer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    I will post today the results in my tank showcase thread (about the TDS).. but yes, I hope that it is cleaner here, although it is a lot crowded here...
     
    Homer, Jan 25, 2013
    #11
  12. Homer

    chichimom79 reef junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    Southwest Missouri
    The RO/DI unit that I purchased has a TDS meter built in so that I can see the TDS going into the DI resin and the TDS coming out. I am so glad to have it. If you have to take that one back and get a new one, look for a built in TDS meter. Let us know how it goes!
     
    chichimom79, Jan 25, 2013
    #12
  13. Homer

    Laz

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    Laz, Jan 25, 2013
    #13
  14. Homer

    chichimom79 reef junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    Southwest Missouri
    It looks like an ok system and it also looks like an RO/DI and not just an RO. With used systems, they could leak and the filters will need to be replaced.
     
    chichimom79, Jan 25, 2013
    #14
  15. Homer

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    That filter would work great for your tank, but like Chichi said -- replace the filters. You don't know how long it's been since they were replaced and they usually need to be replaced every year or so (depending on the water quality).
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 26, 2013
    #15
  16. Homer

    Laz

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks, girls.

    Is it expensive to replace the filters, though, and would it require to be of that brand or can any universal filter fit onto an RO system? I ask because the unit on that ad seems to not be a brand that I can find online, which could mean I may not be able to find parts.

    Not quite sure, really. I've only got a 12 Gallon, after all...
     
    Laz, Jan 26, 2013
    #16
  17. Homer

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    In the US, you can get a full set of replacement filters/cartridges for $40 to $60. As far as I know, it's universal and you don't need to use the same brand. Hopefully someone else can chime in to confirm this though!
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 26, 2013
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.