Ro/DI systems

moncapitane

Reefing newb
Anyone used this RO/DI system for s/w aquariums:
Captive Purity 35 GPD Compact RO Information

Anyone have any good suggestion for a RO/DI unit? I only need one that will do like 40 a day or so because i'm getting a 50-60 gallon tank and will be doing a 20-25% change every week or 2.

I am new to this and have been doing a ton of research so any input is good because there are so many different opinions out there of what you need to do or what you should do. Also, are you using live sand or crushed coral and how much? I'm getting a 50-60 gallon tank and heard 1lb / gallon is too much and some people say 1.5lb /gallon is what is needed.

How much sand you use is totally up to you. If you wanted you could leave your tank without sand all together. Generally 1 lb/gallon. Will get you about a 1-2 inch deep sand bed. How deep you make it will really depend on the look you want for your tank and what you're keeping in it. If you dont have anything requiring it then you can go for 1" but some animals will require 2-6 in deep sand beds.

I've got wrasses that burrow into the sand at night to sleep so my sand bed is a little deeper at 3-4in in some spots.

I agree with bl1 i went with a 2 inch bed just in case I wanted something that burrowed later and the fish moved it around some where now I have a few spots that are in the 3 to 4 inch for them..