Sump Building

Xanthus

Reefing newb
I am a newbie here, and have posted a few times, but mostly ghost thru reading a bunch. I have back tracked and am going to wait a bit before going forward with starting my reef tank. I seem to be stuck on building and setup. There seems to be a million different ways to run, setup and filter a system. The sump seems to be the key upon which everything works from. Yes I know you can do this without a sump, but its use seems to make the whole process more efficient. I found a website of a gentleman that seems (to my newbie understanding) to have a wonderful grasp of the mechanics. I have spent days and days looking thru all his various designs and ideas. Here is the design I like, but you can look thru his other designs too and see what you think. I am still thinking of a 75 gal tank.

Melevsreef.com | Acrylic Sumps & Refugiums

His website is awesome! I use the exact same setup in my system. I wouldn't really sweat it too much though, some people just use rubbermaid containers. Decide what route you want to take, ie skimmer vs. scrubber and what equipment you think you might need and design accordingly. Sometimes in this hobby you have to experiment (actually almost all the time for me) and see what works and what doesn't and learn from other people what works and what doesn't.

+1 cool...i love melevsreef. In fact, my very first sump is based off that design as well -- 3 chamber, intake on the left with a triple baffle, fuge on the right, and return in the middle. It worked perfectly for the year that I ran it (I've since upgraded to a larger tank and sump using the rubbermaid tubs that cool mentioned lol).

I used a 20g long tank w/ acrylic baffles sealed w/ silicone. I say go for it!

There's a hundred different ways to set up a sump. It all works, if you follow some basic design principals.