Tap Water

kcamp35525

Reefing newb
Hello,

I am totally new to salt water aquariums. Last week I set up my brand new 29 gallon Coralite BioCube. In setting up the aquarium, I used tap water to mix with my instant ocean salt. Unknowingly, I did not treat the water before mixing the salt and putting the water in my tank... the tank has been cycling since 6/19. I recently discovered that I should have not used tap water. I took a sample of my water to a LFS to have tested. He did a TDS (I think) test of my water and it tested 286. He sold me some ChemiPure and a Damsel fish to help the tank. I initially started this tank to be a reef tank. My question is, is there anything I can do short of starting completely over with purified water, to correct the problem of using Tap Water.

He tested your tank water for TDS or your tap water? Your tank water has the salt mix in it so the TDS will be high. It should be! You don't need to start over. Just do water changes and top off with RO/DI water from now on. You may have an algae bloom but if you keep your parameters in check it will burn itself out. Good luck!

Well, damsels are both cheap and hardy.

Assuming that 286 carries a unit of parts per trillion (ppt), then that is high. If that carries the units of parts per million, then YIKES!

Ideally you want your water w/o salt to have less than 5 ppt of junk in it, which would be a readout of 50 assuming a standard tds meter.

Having said that, do large water changes after you get a ro/di. Hope the damsel makes it. They are tough. I am assuming the lfs sold you the damsel to kick start a tank cycle. That's what I used for mine, and they all lived. If they can survive a cycle, they can pull through most anything.