trouble with water mix

Meg

Reefing newb
Hi,

I'm very new to this. This is my second water change - or at least my attempt. I have a biube pure 9 gallon tank and it comes with instructions on how to mix my water.
1) add 2 gallons of lukewarm water (approx 74 F ) to a clean bucket
2) add 250 g of their reef salt - stir continuously until salt is dissolved
3) add the sachet of stress coat
etc..

Now, I got in trouble with step 3. I added the sachet of stress coat after it looked like the salt had dissolved but once I added it, it formed a bunch of insoluble particles. It will not dissolve and I'm not sure what I did wrong.

I need to change my water soon and I don't have more stress coat. I could go out and buy more and try again but I wanted to do it today and I was wondering what my other options were?

Could I use distilled water instead? and if I do, do I still need to use stress coat?
I was thinking of buying RO water if I can, how is this different from distilled water and do I need to add stress coat to that as well?

Also, if I use distilled water or RO water, do I need to wait 24 hrs like the instructions tell me to do when I use tap water with stress coat?

Let me know you're thoughts. BTW - I know you all are probably saying NO TAP water. Like I said, I was following directions. :)

Thanks. I could use your help.

stress coat is not needed. also tap water is bad for salt tanks unless you like alage and other problems that can come of it. just buy distalled water and a bag of salt from the lfs no need to buy their special salt. and yes you are supost to mix the salt and let it sit for at least a few hours salt can hurt the fish and corals if not dissolved all the way.

Thanks for the reply.

So no stress coat for distilled water. Any distilled water I get from the supermarket will due I suppose?

Thank you!