Water changes..

devicore16

Reefing newb
I'd like to know how to do water changes... like do you just pre-mix the salt in water and instantly add it to the tank, or just let the water cycle first before adding it.. please tell it to me step by step, coz im new to this..for my 63 gallon reef,LPS & SPS, what maintenance should i do to make sure everythig will be in good shape, thanks!

The general rule of thumb is to change 10-15 gallons of water per week. It's pretty simple. Make sure you use RO water. Eaither with your RO filtration or you can buy it at your lfs, never use tap water. Just mix the salt in a bucket and check with your hydrometer to make sure it is where you want it to be. I also have an extra pump and a heater I put in the bucket to make sure it is all dissolved and pretty close to the same temp in my main tank. I usally make my salt the night before and let it mix over night then recheck before my water change with my hydrometer to make sure everything is a ok. JMO

Dolphins got it pretty well covered.
Just start it mixing a day or 2 ahead of time.Just mix up enough for 10 to 20%.

My first water change was a 10%. Then I did a 20%. I premixed the water and salt and let it sit for some time until it was totally disolved. Make sure your water is the correct temp before going into your tank.

thanks for the feedbacks guyS! REALLY appreciated it! but i wonder is it possible to use tap water for water change but treating it first.. like puting anti chlorine stuffs, etc..

It's generally not recommended to use tap water as there are usually excessive heavy metals, phosphates, and chemicals in the water. Using RO or RO/DI is best for the tank. That said, I have exceptional water in my area and use a filter in the water line. It's still not the best way to do it but it works. I was dumping the water from the dehumidifier and wondered how good that water might be for the tank. I won't try it though as I don't have a TDS meter.