Water ?

Marke86

Coral Junkie
The local fish store said that using there processed sea water was ok for reaf tanks I use it when my calcium is a little high what do you guys have to say about fish store sea water?
thanx
mark

I would buy some and test it to see if its good enough to use in the future.Test the salinity,nitrate,phosphate,calcium,pH and alkalinity.Also test the freshwater for total dissolve solids(TDS) with a TDS meter.It should be zero or close to it.I wonder sometimes if some LFS pull water right out of tap to sell as RO/DI water.

For me,I've been using water from a LFS for around 10 years now.They gave me a tour of their filtration and its better than what I could do.The water consistently have near zero TDS and all other test shows perfect results.So what I'm trying to say is test the water,don't blindly take their word on it.

I would really doubt that the LFS has the resources to obtain good natural sea water, as it would have to come from quite a distance off shore. In some locations that would mean miles off shore. Large aquariums like public exhibits using natural sea water are circulating the water through their systems more often than not allowing for the use of poorer quality water. That option is usually not available to the home reef keeper. I would definitely want the name of their water supplier and ther intenet URL and email address before using their product. Marine salt mix and RO water are still two of the cheaper expenditures in reef tank keeping.

I Use Natural Sea Water From My Lfs, And It Has Worked Great For Me So Far. It's Like 20 Dollars For 4.4 Gallons. I Tested The Salinity And It Was Right At 1.025. It Was Loaded With Natural Bacteria And Had Tons Of Minerals. Like I Said It Worked Great For Me When I Had That Major Nitrate Scare. I Changed Like 15 Gallons And Brought All My Nitrate Levels Down To 10 Ppm From Over 100 Ppm !!