what the dueuce?!?! diatoms after a week of new sand

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by jcegt87, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. jcegt87

    jcegt87 Dude Dude DUDE!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Texas City , TX 77591
    um so my tank was looking all nice and whatnot , yesterday i started seeing a few bubbles on the very top of my rockwork, no problem just blew them off with my the turkey baster and went about my day, today i wasnt really paying attention to the tank for most of the day until a few minutes ago, i look in and holy sh!t the back wall has a brown film and the rockwork is FULL of bubbles,

    am i gonna go through another cycle, this is what i was scarred of when changing my sand , i checked my parameters sunday and all checked out .

    my brain had bubbles on the bottom base also

    should i just pick up my water changes? like twice a week? should i leave my lights off for the next few days?

    ill check my levels and post them here in a few *sigh*

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
    jcegt87, Sep 7, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jcegt87

    jcegt87 Dude Dude DUDE!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Texas City , TX 77591
    alrigh heres the tests lol

    [​IMG]

    everything checks out

    ammonia -0-
    NO2 -0-
    NO3 -0-
     
    jcegt87, Sep 7, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jcegt87

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    The algae is sucking up the nitrates before you can test for them, but is it possible you have dinos? It tends to look like snot with bubbles in it
     
    little_fish, Sep 7, 2011
    #3
  4. jcegt87

    jcegt87 Dude Dude DUDE!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Texas City , TX 77591
    for now its just bubbles.... should i do anything specific aside upping my water changes and cutting lights?
     
    jcegt87, Sep 7, 2011
    #4
  5. jcegt87

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    not really
     
    little_fish, Sep 7, 2011
    #5
  6. jcegt87

    jcegt87 Dude Dude DUDE!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Texas City , TX 77591
    ok thanks L_F , just curious thought , could it be caused by changing the sand? or could it be something else?

    i reduced feeding to every other day,lights i am still running the lights prob about 10-11 hrs is that still to much?first 2 hours i have the 10k bulbs on , followed by all lights for about 6 hrs , then only actinics for the rest about 2 hrs
     
    jcegt87, Sep 7, 2011
    #6
  7. jcegt87

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    it could be, mixing up the sand could cause a nutrient spike for them to feed off of
     
    little_fish, Sep 7, 2011
    #7
  8. jcegt87

    NanoReefer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    pennsylvania
    if you used silica sand, diatoms make their shells from silica. (thats why most people use ro water). but that could be causing the diatoms
     
    NanoReefer, Sep 8, 2011
    #8
  9. jcegt87

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    VA USA
    Did you CHANGE or ADD sand? If you changed out too much sand, you could be going through another cycle because you essentially would have removed all the nitrifying bacteria from the old sand. The new sand will get seeded quickly, though, so I wouldn't worry.
     
    wontonflip, Sep 8, 2011
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.