hi living reef forums

LConte17

Reefing newb
hows everyone doin? im pretty new to the hobby of reefs and salt water aquariums. ive recently purchased a 12g nano cube Deluxe, the one with teh upgraded lights. along with that i got a Protein Skimmer, along with some living sand. im plannin on ordering up a powerhead and a wave maker in the next few days. is there anything else other then live rock i should get?

where does everyone get there corals/fish/ and supplies from?

so far ive looked at live aquaria/drsfosterssmith.com, along with Vivid aquariums, marinedepot and blue zoo aquatics. along with a few local stores such as Wetpets [which i believe has a national website for ordering].

thanks in advance to anyone that answers any of my questions. hopefully once the tank is done cycling and everything is good to go i can get myself a pretty sweet reef set up.

thanks, ZO

Welcome to the livingreef Lconte

I perfer to buy my livestock from the LFS,that way I know what im getting,and once you figure in shipping your coming out about the same price wise.
As for supplies, it all depends on who has the best price weather online or local.If I order any thing online its usually from liveaquria or petsolutions.
Just remember that with a 12gal nano you'll really have to stay on top of your parmeters.
Keep us posted and good luck.

Hello and welcome! I don't think you would need a wavemaker for a nano... A powerhead should be sufficient. It sounds like you have everything you need besides test kits (pH, alkalinity, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, calcium) and either a hydrometer or a refractometer.

I have ordered things from etropicals, liveaquaria, and marinedepotlive. I usually buy livestock from my LFS though.

Keep us updated on how things go and feel free to ask any questions that you might have.

oh yah i ordered a test kid and a hydrometer when i ordered teh skimmer i knew i forgot something. and i got a 2 part Kent marine Nano reef buffer too.