28 gal AquaEuro Tank for $110...good deal?

Discussion in 'Fish Tanks' started by laura-jean, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Hi fishy friends. I wanted to ask your opinion on something.

    I found what seems to be a pretty good deal on a tank on craigslist.

    Salt Water Fish Tank

    He posted this a couple weeks ago and he still has the tank available and he said he needs it gone ASAP, so I figure I might be able to haggle for a lower price. Not sure if it has a lid or lights though. I'm waiting for a response on that question.

    Whaddya think?
     
    laura-jean, Dec 23, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. laura-jean

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Depends on the lighting. Any word back?
     
    dcantucson, Dec 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. laura-jean

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    dcantucson, Dec 23, 2009
    #3
  4. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    No lighting, just a glass lid. Said he would go down to $80....?
     
    laura-jean, Dec 23, 2009
    #4
  5. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    and that he bought it brand new for $160.
     
    laura-jean, Dec 23, 2009
    #5
  6. laura-jean

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    For $80, I think that's a good deal. You can always order a replacement hood or new lights.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 23, 2009
    #6
  7. laura-jean

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Yup I agree. I believe there are retro fit lights for those too.
     
    dcantucson, Dec 23, 2009
    #7
  8. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Am I better off with a 28 gal vs. a 10 gal? Easier maintenance?

    It would be nice to use the 10 gal for frags/emergency tank...
     
    laura-jean, Dec 23, 2009
    #8
  9. laura-jean

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    28 gallon will be much easier. The larger the tank, the less work to keep water parameters stable. More water volume = More room for error.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 23, 2009
    #9
  10. laura-jean

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Biff is right. I started with a 10 gallon and it was just too hard to maintain without diligent water changes so I moved up to a 32 gallon and it was much much easier. I would start with something around 50 gallons if I were to do it all over again.
     
    dcantucson, Dec 23, 2009
    #10
  11. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    He's going to sell it to me for $60 :D :D :D that's a deal!!!!

    Starting with a 50 gal would just be too big for my home at this point of time. My dad is still convinced that I am going to kill everything I put in the tank because his friend couldn't keep one up. Once I show him I can keep up the 28 gal, I think he'll be more inclined to let me get a big tank for the living room. One with a stand and a sump and all kinds of nice things for the more advanced fish-keeper. :)

    I'm going to go get it tomorrow afternoon. I'll post pictures.

    How do I go about taking my ten gallon and putting everything in the 28 gallon?
     
    laura-jean, Dec 23, 2009
    #11
  12. laura-jean

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    That won't be too hard -- get yourself some 5-gallon buckets from Home Depot or Lowe's, and just set up your rocks how you want them in the new tank. Then move your sand over. While you are doing this, keep your fish and inverts in the 5 gallon buckets with the water from the 10-gallon tank (you may have to remove the rocks first to catch the fish). Then re-use your old water, and top off the new tank with new water.
     
    Bifferwine, Dec 24, 2009
    #12
    laura-jean likes this.
  13. laura-jean

    SeattleDarko REEFER

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Seattle WA USA
    Don't worry about your Dad, my dad said the same thing!
     
    SeattleDarko, Dec 24, 2009
    #13
    laura-jean likes this.
  14. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Thanks biff, that's very helpful! Doesn't sound too hard either.

    And I hope I can prove him wrong. He'll still be stubborn about it, but whatever :p
     
    laura-jean, Dec 24, 2009
    #14
  15. laura-jean

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    :bowdown: You can do it!!! :bowdown:
    Don't forget the pictures. We like pictures, so don't forget about the pictures. Oh, did I mention anything about pictures?
     
    dcantucson, Dec 24, 2009
    #15
  16. laura-jean

    laura-jean friend to the fish

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    LOL. I won't forget. I like to show off...I was definitely a peacock in a past life
     
    laura-jean, Dec 24, 2009
    #16
  17. laura-jean

    Toolman RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ
    Getting out of my 12 gallon Aquapod and into a 28 gallon JBJ can I just switch everything over or should I cycle the new tank first and then switch? Can't stand any loss of life so I want to do it right...How much total rock should I have? I was going with 20 Lbs. live sand and build up from there. Should I use the millle rear as a refugium? And with two discharges where in the heck should I put the skimmer? Is this more then a weekend project? Am I nuts for trying this? My fish and seahorse need new digs
     
    Toolman, Jan 3, 2010
    #17
  18. laura-jean

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You can just switch it over -- use your old sand, rock and water, and top off the tank with new saltwater. This way, you should avoid a cycle. You should have between 1 and 2 lbs of rock per gallon, so 30 to 60 pounds. You can use what you have now, and slowly add more rock. You can get this done a weekend, no problem!
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 3, 2010
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.