55 gall Starter Tank- Need advice on equip.

aratari10

Reefing newb
I just got a 55 gallon tank from petsupermarket that is a beginner kit. I have never done salt and have been browsing for advice until i came to this forum which looks like the best of the three i ran into. Long story short i have no pre existing knowledge but am not interested in freshwater so just straight advice no persausion please.

It came with a Penguin 350 Power filter
Two Right size C Filter cartridges
24" Flourescent full hoods and lamps no wattage info
200 watt heater
Dimensions are 48" by 13" by 20"

I want to do a live rock fish setup not too full of rock however maybe 35 - 45 lbs
I wasnt too crazy about aneome or coral as it looks very intensive and im prob not ready for that.

So what to do... do i need a protien skimmer?, how bout a sump?
More lighting? Reverse Osmosis deionization? What is Zeolite Chemical filtration?
Is my penguin 350 filter worthless( read some interesting things saying so)
I obviously need a vacumm and a siphon
Any other advice for set up is great...
I have no clue about fish but it looks like invertabres are off limits if want a fish live rock set up or is that inaccurate?

Hello and Welcome!

I would ditch the filter and either make an algae scrubber or buy a protein skimmer. The Reef octopus brand is the best for that price range. The filter is probably going to give you more issues that its worth. It will need constant cleaning to remain a help instead of a hindrance to your system.

That light is just fine for a fish only, live rock (FOWLR) system. And its really easy to start with a FOWLR system and upgrade later on to a reef system. And if you can keep inverts depends on the fish you put in there, some will eat them, other will leave them alone. Also there is a database on this website, as well as Saltwater Fish: Marine Aquarium Fish for Saltwater Aquariums that can give you of ideas on fish and their needs.